Summer’s here. Let’s get moving.

The Adventure Cycling Association, based in Missoula, MT, is one of the best English-language resources available for information and advocacy related to bike tourism. Not only are they the driving force behind the US Bicycle Route System, they are, hands down, the best place to go if you want to connect with other cycle tourists. I’m stretching writing, here…they’re cool and they’re informative, and you have to check them out.

To get an idea of the reach of the Association, check out their web page for the Bike Travel Weekend, which (I understand) happens every year during the first weekend of June. Cycle tourists from all over the world (seriously, check the map out) post their three-day trips and promise to post information on the trip they take.

I figured that this would be a good chance to gently get back into the swing of things, so basically, my trip is going to be the longest commute home I could possibly take. From work on Friday, I’ll ride up to Cantley, Quebec, and stay in the campsite there. Saturday, I’ll ride along the Gatineau River to Wakefield (covered bridge, here I come!), then skirt along the north side of Gatineau Park over to Sainte-Cécile-de-Masham (which, I have it on good authority – my sister-in-law – is home to some of the best patates frites in the Pontiac region). After spending Saturday night in Gatineau Park, I’ll tackle Trails 50 and 36 and hopefully not get too lost/covered in poison ivy, head along Meech Lake and then down through Kingsmere and Pink Lake to the Ottawa River, and head home. Basically, it’s a 80-km trip home from work, two days late, but it takes advantage of the numerous campsites and park infrastructure that we have close to Ottawa. (This is something I should have pointed out in yesterday’s post: If you don’t have a car, getting in and out of eastern Ontario and western Quebec is a bit of a headache, but we’re not lacking for things to do and places to go in the area.)

Oh, and I bought a new bike for the trip. Don’t tell Doug.

(Postdatum: I’ll post the technical and tourist information once I get back. In the meantime, you can see the map by clicking here.)

Leave a Reply

